Workspaces and permissions
A workspace usually corresponds to a team of developers working on a project. A Samebug user can access multiple workspaces and a workspace can be associated with multiple users. These are useful to organize and control the visibility of content generated during the project development.
Your activity on Samebug will always happen in the workspace you specified. When you create new content it will inherit the visibility of the workspace, so if you are working in a
Searchable workspace and you send a crash to Samebug, your crash will be created under that workspace with
You can grant access to other Samebug users for your workspace by adding different permissions. These permissions are:
|Permission name||Available actions|
|Admin||can manage the workspace, grant or revoke permission of workspace users, change workspace settings|
|Read||can see the stack trace details of the content in the workspace (as if it was |
|Search||can find content in the workspace by stack trace search (but not see the details, as if it was |
|Write||can create new content in the workspace, i.e. can send crash or create tip|
As we mentioned, any activity you do on Samebug happens in a workspace. If you do not specify it otherwise, this is your Default Workspace, created along with your Samebug user. You have every permission on your Default Workspace, and it is on
Searchable visibility by default.
If you want to manage changes to your workspace, go to the Workspaces tab on your Profile. Here you can create a new workspace and by clicking on any of the workspaces you can view details about, add/remove members, grant permissions and set visibility.